Investigation of Driver License Issuance Alternatives

In Kentucky, Circuit Court Clerks are the primary agency (with a few exceptions) authorized to issue original driver’s licenses, renewals, and duplicates. Currently, 120 clerks operate 142 offices throughout the state. Some clerks are reconsidering their roles, as the costs associated with operating these offices and maintaining the necessary infrastructure are quite high, particularly in rural counties with little customer traffic. Implementing state and federal policy mandates is logistically challenging for a largely decentralized association consisting of counties whose access to resources varies significantly. The Division of Driver Licensing already works on several aspects of driver license issuance and oversight (e.g., commercial driver’s license administration, driver history record maintenance, driver license reinstatement) and maintains several regional field offices. State officials have requested information on whether the agency should centralize and modernize driver license issuance.


    • English


    • Status: Active
    • Funding: $100000
    • Contract Numbers:

      KYSPR 20-583

    • Sponsor Organizations:

      Kentucky Transportation Cabinet

      200 Mero Street
      Frankfort, KY  United States  40622
    • Performing Organizations:

      University of Kentucky, Lexington

      Kentucky Transportation Center College of Engineering, 176 Raymond Building
      Lexington, KY  United States  40506-0281
    • Principal Investigators:

      Martin, Andrew

    • Start Date: 20190701
    • Expected Completion Date: 20200630
    • Actual Completion Date: 0

    Subject/Index Terms

    Filing Info

    • Accession Number: 01711180
    • Record Type: Research project
    • Source Agency: University of Kentucky, Lexington
    • Contract Numbers: KYSPR 20-583
    • Files: RiP, STATEDOT
    • Created Date: Jul 17 2019 1:37PM